Truly

10 12 2012

You came to me again
In that dream
where I said yes,
and broke that vow
I wish you wouldn’t do that
but I’m glad you did
because in dreams, vows are reality that can be broken
since we can’t control them, it’s OK
I guess

That one fleeting touch
on the back of your leg
over a decade ago
still lingers
it’s so powerful
it hurts
when I let it

Had it happened
I would be half the man I was/am
you thought it was fear that stopped me
and you were right
I was afraid I couldn’t let go
once I felt your touch
I’m like that you know

You told all your friends
my co workers
to protect your vanity
you made things uncomfortable
for everybody
I told you it was true love
that sponsored my vow
and it was/is
that scared you
and made you want me more.

Then I found out you weren’t a real aquarian
You were about the money
about the job, about the fame
control
You surrounded yourself with your ‘girls’
and married the guy who abused you
and went trudging off to your new world
where I can never go
or I would be half the man I was/am

Thank you, for everything
truly
It helped me be who I am/was
and that’s OK
You may see me as poor
but my riches can’t be explained
to someone who holds
such material wealth
like a shield in front of them
as they hide their true self behind it

thank you
truly

I’ll see you in that dream

where I said yes

and broke that vow

we can be together there

and it’s OK

I guess

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

